HP’s ‘The Wolf’ wins Best in Show at the Digiday Content Marketing Awards

HP won Best in Show at last night’s Digiday Content Marketing Awards gala for its video series, “The Wolf,” which reveals what can happen if offices don’t secure their printers.

Less than 2 percent of business printers are secure from outside hacking, according to HP research. “The Wolf” is one part of a four-installment video series created in partnership with agency Giant Spoon that highlights what can go wrong if a printer isn’t secure. In a six-minute video starring “Mr. Robot” actor Christian Slater, a hacker named The Wolf upends a financial company before an important pitch by hacking its insecure printer. The solution is HP’s line of “the most secure” printers.

Other winners announced at the gala at Edison Ballroom in New York City:

  • Arby’s CMO Rob Lynch, who was awarded Content Marketer of the Year, and Atlantic Re:think, which won Content Marketing Team of the Year. Lynch is credited with turning around the faltering fast-food chain’s bottom line by focusing on bold, attention-grabbing messaging to build a passionate group of fans. “Content — great content — has helped us fight above our weight in a very tough and competitive market,” said Lynch in a video he sent in his place.
  • Atlantic Re:think boasts a diverse portfolio of brands, from Jaguar to Qualcomm to the 2016 film “Miss Sloane.” The content studio also contributes substantially to The Atlantic’s bottom line: Sponsored content drives over 60 percent of The Atlantic’s yearly revenue.
  • Best Content Marketing Tech Platform went to Casper for its messenger bot, Insomnobot 3000. Insomniacs can text a number and chat with a bot “designed to keep you company as you fall asleep.”
  • Reuters Solutions, the commercial advertising department of Reuters.com, and pain relief medication Excedrin won Most Effective/Measurable Campaign for the¬†article¬†“A History of Head Pain.” The piece of interactive content traces the history of the headache and its cures, from trepanation in 4,000 B.C. to the study of migraines in 2013.

See the full list of winners here.